In English Please – Blog

Activity of the Week

(leave your answers in a comment!)

A brainteaser (don’t google the answer!)

You are driving on your way to town A. You come to a fork in the road, each road going to a different town, but you’re not sure which goes to town A and which goes to town B.

You know that all the people from town A tell the truth, while all the people from the town B lie.

There is a man standing there, but you don’t know which town he comes from.

You can only ask him one question.

How do you make it to town A?

Update 14/03/2012 – ANSWER:

Point one way and say “Is that your hometown?” If it’s town A, the truthteller will be truthful and say “yes”; the liar will lie and say “yes” as well. If it’s town B, both the truthteller and liar will say “no”.


This entry was published on March 9, 2012 at 21:47 and is filed under Home. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Activity of the Week

  1. I have heard this before… but can’t remember what was the solution! and I don’t want to google it at the same it.. This is a tough one..

    One thing which I need to clarify,. I get to ask him only one general question. I mean any question I want?

  2. Eduardo on said:

    Hi everybody!
    I also have heard a similar situation, but it was in a prison with two doors and two men. I guess the solution in this question is a little bit similar. We can ask that man: ” If there was a man with you and I had asked him which road goes to town A, what had he said?” Then, after his answer we should take the opposite road he said.
    I guess. Difficult, but very nice!

  3. Yes I remember now! If there is a man with you from town B and I had asked him which road goes to town A, what he would have said? (I am not sure if the grammar is correct though)

    I would never ever think of this !!! very tricky 🙂

  4. Thank you Eduardo!! This was really driving me crazy!!

  5. Don’t get excited just yet!

    If you say to the man at the fork in the road: “If I had a man from town B with me what would he have said?” – you still don’t know if the answer the man at the fork in the road gives you is true or false….

    Keep trying! (don’t lose sleep over it, though 🙂 )

  6. Ahmad and Eduardo, I’ve updated the post with the answer (above)!

  7. marie on said:

    You’ve stumped me on that one although I’ve been told the story dozens of times ! I’ll have to ask my sons for the answer, I’m sure they remember it 🙂

  8. marie on said:

    … Hi Emily ! I’ve read the answer and …. I think it’s too much for a Friday : I need a new brain !

Leave a Reply

