In English Please – Blog

Word of the Week

(use it in a sentence, leave it in a comment)

better the devil you know (than the devil you don’t)

idiom

It is better to deal with someone or something you are familiar with and know, even if they are not ideal, than take a risk with an unknown person or thing.
“Although she was unhappy in her marriage, Elisa never considered leaving her husband for another man, “Better the devil you know” was her philosophy.”
“My job is so boring but I think I should stick with it, better the devil you know”
This entry was published on April 20, 2012 at 19:12 and is filed under Home. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Word of the Week

  1. Eduardo on said:

    My car is so bad and I was thinking about buying a second hand car, but as I don’t know any mechanic I gave up that idea, better the devil you know, said the Devil.

Leave a Reply

