In English Please – Blog

Word of the Week

(use it in a sentence, leave it in a comment)

up to one’s eyeballs / up to one’s neck / up to one’s ears

idiom

deeply involved, or, in a bad situation because of having a huge amount of something

Filing my tax return is taking ages, I’m up to my eyeballs in receipts and invoices and bills.

She can’t come out tonight, she’s up to her neck in work and has to get it all done by morning, I think she’ll be doing an all-nighter!

The city council is up to its ears in debt.

This entry was published on September 8, 2012 at 17:20 and is filed under Home. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Word of the Week

  1. Hi 🙂 I’ve just started my course in illeteracy and I’m up to my neck in homework and getting my sons sorted out with their back to school supplies and first homework BUT I hope I’ll soon be ready to resume our conversation sessions !

  2. roberzim on said:

    Goddamn it, I knew I should’ve listened to my mother. I could’ve been a cosmetic surgeon, five hundred thou a year, up to my neck in tits and ass: [Memorable quotes for Romancing the Stone (1984)]

  3. roberzim on said:

    Now I am silent, hate
    Up to my neck,
    Thick, thick.
    I do not speak

    by Sylvia Plath, Ariel: The Restored Edition

Leave a Reply

